MaCinJay’s Musings

another case of inverse vandalism

Mac nightmare

with one comment

After I installed Leopard I decided that it was finally time to upgrade my RAM, as my iMac was noticeably slower. So I bought a 1 Gig stick of memory from a supplier on the West Rand. Of course when I tried to install it that night it wouldn’t fit into the expansion slot, despite me having given the assistant the exact specifications that I needed. In my naiveté I managed to get the module in anyway.

Needless to say, after I restarted my Mac emitted a series of loud beeps. The white light in the bezel came on but the screen remained ominously dark. I turned off the machine and restarted it again after removing the RAM module – same result 😦

So this morning I dropped it off for repairs. The consultant told me that she thought it sounded like a blown logic board, which would put me back between four- and eight-thousand rand. That is if I decide it’s worth fixing; I can buy a new MacBook for less than 10k.

Lesson learned: leave the technical shit to the technicians.

Written by macinjay

October 31, 2007 at 8:24 pm

Posted in Apple Mac

Tagged with , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] OS X Leopard: Time Machine Posted in General by macinjay on March 4th, 2008 In October last year I related how I inadvertently blew my iMac’s logic board. Reluctant to pay the […]


Leave a Reply

