MaCinJay’s Musings

another case of inverse vandalism

iPod touch update

with 3 comments

Following Steve Jobs’s keynote at last week’s Macworld Expo I made the observation that international iPod touch owners (or at least those without iTunes Stores in their countries) had been left high and dry because they were unable to buy the upgrade that he announced. In fact though there is a workaround, albeit a convoluted one.

A while back I tried to open an iTunes account but was stymied because I didn’t have a US credit card or address. After that I read somewhere that you could also make purchases from the iTunes Stores using iTunes vouchers but never bothered to look into it further. My interest was rekindled after Jobs’s keynote – I wanted that upgrade.

I learned that iTunes vouchers were available for purchase on eBay and bought a $25 voucher with a $4 markup using PayPal. All that remained was to find a suitable address in the US so that I could redeem the voucher under “Quick Links” in the iTunes Store.

Once all that had been done I was able to buy the upgrade. Even better, I’ve bought a few songs and downloaded the pilot to Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles for free!

I still have to question Apple’s wisdom here though. While it may be convenient for the company to leverage off the iTunes Store to sell these type of upgrades, it doesn’t make much sense from a distribution standpoint. In countries like South Africa distribution rights for music content are jealousy protected, which is presumably why there is no iTunes Store here yet. But Apple is free to sell its software anywhere in the world, so why restrict sales unnecessarily and leave people to resort to complicated workarounds?

Surely Apple should have come up with a more appropriate platform.

Written by macinjay

January 24, 2008 at 10:35 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with you on everything 🙂 Thanks for the post.

    Free iPod Touch

    January 25, 2008 at 1:25 am

  2. Hi, I’ve done the same thing (buy gift card, redeem points, etc.) but I couldn’t buy the ipod Touch January Update yet. Can you tell me the steps to do so?

    Thanks in advace.

    Kind regards from Argentina

    Lucio

    Lucio

    February 19, 2008 at 5:43 am

  3. Hi Lucio

    Copy and paste this link into your browser: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=307243

    It should point you in the right direction.

    Kind regards

    macinjay

    February 21, 2008 at 10:41 pm


Leave a Reply

